Skip to main content

Special Collections: Researching Augustana College History

This guide will help you embark on research into the history of Augustana College (previously Augustana College and Theological Seminary) in Rock Island, Illinois.

Getting Started with Augustana College History

This LibGuide is for anyone hoping to research the history of Augustana College in Rock Island, Illinois.  If you are a current student working on an assignment for class, an alumna or alumnus preparing for an upcoming reunion, a descendant of someone who attended Augustana engaged in genealogical research, an employee of the college looking for information or materials for a project, or just a curious member of the public, this guide is for you!  

While many of the resources pertaining to the history of the college are located in Special Collections, many are also available in the main library collection and some are accessible online.  Wherever possible, this guide will note if a resource is available in multiple locations. 

If something is only available in Special Collections, you will need to visit the reading room on the first floor of Thomas Tredway Library in the Gerber Center for Student Life.  During the academic year, when classes are in session, our reading room is open 1:00-5:00 p.m., Monday-Thursday.  During academic breaks, when classes are not in session, the reading room is open 1:00-4:30 p.m., Monday-Thursday.  You do not need an appointment to visit Special Collections, but if you have a complicated research question or want to make sure someone will be available to help you, it is always a good idea to call ((309) 794-7643) or email (specialcollections@augustana.edu) ahead of your visit.

UPDATE 3/23/2020 - The Special Collections reading room is closed and all Special Collections employees are working remotely.  We will continue to provide reference/research assistance via email, but please understand that without access to our physical holdings our ability to answer questions will be limited.  To communicate with us at this time, we ask that you use email only: specialcollections@augustana.edu.