Skip to main content

Special Collections: Researching Local History

This guide is for anyone interested in researching local history topics using Augustana College Special Collections resources.

Welcome!

This guide is for anyone interested in pursuing local history research in Augustana College's Special Collections.  Whether you are an Augustana student, faculty, or staff member, a member of the local community, or a member of the general public who is interested in the history of Rock Island, Moline, the greater Quad Cities area, or the Upper Mississippi Valley region, we are here to help you and we hope you'll find something great in our collections!

Special Collections is a closed stacks facility, which means our materials do not circulate, but we are open to the public and anyone is welcome to use our materials in our supervised reading room.  The reading room is open from 1:00-5:00 p.m., Monday-Thursday when classes are in session (1:00-4:30 p.m. when classes are not in session).  Appointments are not required, but we do require photo ID and it's always a good idea to call or send an email ahead of your visit to make sure someone will be available to assist you.  From time to time the reading room is closed due to class visits or campus events, so we encourage visitors to contact us first especially if they will be traveling any distance to get here.

UPDATE 3/23/2020 - The Special Collections reading room is closed and all Special Collections employees are working remotely.  We will continue to provide reference/research assistance via email, but please understand that without access to our physical holdings our ability to answer questions will be limited.  To communicate with us at this time, we ask that you use email only: specialcollections@augustana.edu.